Let’s Get Personal

Hi Friends! I’ve realized that I do not post much on here, let alone talk much about myself, other than what my self-portraits and vague musings might tell you if you follow me on social media.  I enjoy writing but I also feel self conscious about it for some reason, which is why I do not tend to share much.  In an effort to overcome fear and be more open, I am going to work on changing that!  Where there is fear, there is always an opportunity for growth!

“Vulnerability is the birthplace of innovation, creativity and change.” – Brené Brown

I’m passionate about photography because it allows me to express myself in ways that sometimes words can not, and to connect my work with others who resonate with it and desire to display it in their homes. I have a lot of visions and dreams in my head that need to find their way out into the world and I feel that now more than ever I am ready to start manifesting those visions fully.

I first found my voice using a small analogue toy camera called a Holga (which I also have a blog about) and many of you have been supporters of my work ever since that time over 10 years ago! I feel extremely grateful to all of you, and especially so when you let me know that my work resonates with you on some level. Lately, I have been drawn to expand my work beyond the Holga (although I do still use it!) to create dreamy, other-worldly scenes. Over the past couple of years I’ve started offering those works in my online shop and also in person at art shows locally.  I want to create art that heals and inspires the soul.

Path
When the path ignites a soul, there’s no remaining in place – Hakim Sanai

I also create self portraits that speak to what I am going through in life, and I find a great deal of satisfaction in creating something that speaks to my soul and expresses my inner voice.  Many times these can be quite vague as well, and I hope to change that by writing more and being more open about my mind set when creating these pieces.

2015Feb23_2519
The Blur of Serenity

Most weekends you’ll find me spending time with my family (my husband, 3-year old daughter and two dogs) and photographing or making art when time allows for it. I have a day job as well, so life can be very busy but I always make time to work on my art when I am feeling inspired. If you are reading this, I would love to get to know you more, so leave a comment and introduce yourself. It would make my day!

IMG_0359

 

If you want to follow along my journey you can join me on the following sites:

Facebook
Instagram
Twitter
Email Newsletter

I look forward to connecting with you!

Jen

Leave a Reply

